Montgomery County Department of Police

Montgomery County Police Department in Their Own Words


Just outside of Washington, DC, Montgomery County, Maryland, covers 507 square miles & has a population of nearly 1.1 million residents. Home to Brookside Gardens, Strathmore Arts Center, the Capital Crescent Trail, the Josiah Henson Museum, Glen Echo Park, the Olney Theater, & Butler’s Orchard, the county consists of three cities, twelve towns, four villages, & five unincorporated communities. There are 156,000 school-aged children, two dozen lakes, & its county seat is Rockville.

The Montgomery County Department of Police, located in Montgomery County, Maryland, includes approximately 1,300 sworn officers & 650 support personnel.

The Police Department is structured into the Office of the Chief, under which is the Internal Affairs Division, Professional Accountability Division, Public Information Office, & then five major bureaus: the Community Resources Bureau, the Field Services Bureau, the Investigative Services Bureau, the Management Services Bureau, & the Patrol Services Bureau. The Patrol Services Bureau, the most prominent and visible bureau in the Police Department, oversees most of the Department’s uniformed officers on patrol. The Patrol Services Bureau is divided into six police districts.

The Montgomery County Department of Police's (MCPD) Mission is to safeguard life and property, preserve the peace, prevent & detect crime, enforce the law, & protect the rights of all citizens. We are committed to working in partnership with the community to identify & resolve issues that impact public safety.